You can share dashboards with other users by making them available to groups. Sharing dashboards is a beneficial feature that allows you to:
- Create a series of dashboards that a new user will get automatically when they login
- Sharing dashboards with other members of your team
How to share a dashboard
To share a dashboard:
- Right click on the dashboard tab.
- Select Share this dashboard.
- From the popup menu, click the eye icon next to each group you want to share the dashboard with. The eye icon changes to green for selected groups.
When a dashboard is shared, it will display with the shared icon:
A user will only be able to share dashboards with their own groups, unless they have the Show All Groups for Shared Dashboards security right, which will allow sharing with all groups.
When creating shared dashboards, consider the following restrictions:
- What each user sees will depend on their rights. For example, an Administrator creates a dashboard with a queues viewlet and shares it with the Payments and the Credit teams. When creating the dashboard, the Administrator user sees all queues, but the Payment and Credit teams will only see their queues when using it.
- If you share a dashboard containing a favorite viewlet which contains objects the shared group is not allowed to see, they will still show up in the viewlet but with no attributes.
- A shared dashboard cannot be deleted by the owner if there are active shares.
- User settings such as showing empty queues will apply on shared dashboards, so resulting views may differ slightly.
- You cannot edit the schema of a shared dashboard.
Viewing shared dashboards
When a user logs on for the first time, all shared dashboards will be visible automatically, based on the groups they belong to.
If a user has previously logged in, newly shared dashboards will not be visible automatically. To view available dashboards, click on the Dashboards… button located at the top-right of the screen.
The Manage Dashboards dialog opens. Turn on the Shared Dashboards slider to view shared dashboards. To add the dashboard, select its checkbox and click +Add to Current View. Multiple dashboards can be selected at one time.
The selected dashboard is now displayed on the main tab bar. As seen in the figure below, a dashboard that has been shared by someone else has an icon with a downward-pointing arrow. Hover your mouse over the icon to see the owner of the dashboard.
If the shared dashboards you added do not display on the main tab bar, logout and log back in.
If a user closes a shared dashboard (clicks on the X), the dashboard will be removed from their User Perspective. It can be added back at any time by selecting it from the Manage Dashboards screen (accessed by clicking the Dashboards… button).
When viewing shared dashboards created by someone else, the following restrictions apply:
- Viewlets within a shared dashboard can be minimized or maximized, but only for the current session; a viewlet’s collapsed/expanded state will not be saved.
- Only the dashboard owner can add new viewlets to a shared dashboard. However, if a group with which the dashboard has been shared has permission to edit dashboards, members of that group can edit the viewlets on the shared dashboard.
- Viewlets cannot be added to a shared dashboard.
- The shared dashboard cannot be renamed.
- Schemas cannot be applied. The schema applied by the dashboard’s owner is the only schema that will be used.